About games and gaming thereof!

Happy Birthday! Also, Announcement

Yes, happy new year and all that. What some of you might not realize is that today doesn’t just mark the start of 2012; it’s also the one-year anniversary of the start of Ninja Game Den!

Well, technically I created the blog awhile before January 1st of last year, but that was the day I published my first post and publicized the blog. That was long before most of you would discover it, but whatever, this is a pretty big deal for me, alright?

I now feel morally obligated to do something special to mark the occasion. So here we go: I’d like to announce that in a few days I’ll be starting a Livestream playthrough of The Elder Scrolls: Morrowind. I plan to make this a regular thing, as I previously attempted with Fallout.

But JPH! You remember how Fallout went, don’t you?

Yes, I do. Morrowind is a different game. I’ve played it a decent amount already, and I didn’t find it utterly dreadful like I did with Fallout. But it does have a lot of boring stretches, and I figure it’ll be less boring if I have people to talk to along the way.

So, JP, what mods are you going to use?

This might sound a bit outrageous, but I’m not planning on using any, except for the Morrowind Code Patch, which fixes a number of bugs and miscellaneous issues (and, among other things, lets me toggle sneak mode).

I understand that the Morrowind modding community is impressively huge and talented, but for the purposes of a Let’s Play, introducing even one addition or feature that the designers didn’t intend for would open up a host of issues. Firstly, it could cause glitches within the game that weren’t there in the first place. Secondly, if I want to criticize the game for some minute detail, it could become hard to tell whether that issue is from the game itself or from the mods, and this problem would become more prominent with more mods included. And most importantly, it opens the floodgates for people to say “You’re not using the right mods! You should use these instead! They make the game way better!”

The first streaming day is set for Friday, January 6th. I won’t be free every Friday, and I honestly can’t say when I will be free, because my work schedule is completely erratic and unpredictable. I think I’ll just have to pick days that I’m off and announce those dates for streaming a few days in advance.

I’m not sure what build I’ll go for. The character I built for my secluded playthrough is an acrobatic ninja-type khajit, because what else would I do, honestly. For the LP I’m thinking I’ll roll a mage. An acrobatic mage, natch, but a mage nonetheless. I don’t know how magic works in this game, but I’ve heard that spellcrafting is one of the most fun things to do in Morrowind, so that might be the best option to showcase the game and to make me actually like it.

What do you think I should play as? Post a comment and say so. Or just show up on Friday and make your suggestion then.

4 responses

  1. Will there be a specific time you plan on streaming this Friday, or will it just be all Friday? :3

    January 1, 2012 at 7:45 AM

    • JPH

      ALL THE FRIDAY.

      Yeah, I forgot to put a time. I think it’ll be 5 PM CST. I’ll post a more official notice confirming that when we’re getting closer to Friday.

      January 1, 2012 at 2:12 PM

  2. Niryain

    Morrowind magic can be.. Frustrating. It’s doable, yes, but it’s rather clear that Bethesda designed the game with the intents that magic was a side role to your sword-arm, not your main method of damage dealing. It can work, though, especially if you abuse the spell maker enough.

    January 1, 2012 at 3:22 PM

  3. Mages are great fun… but be warned that it sucks starting out. High chance of spell failure + low damage + very slow magicka regeneration = a tough way to start. However, if you’ve already become accustomed to the sluggishness of Morrowind’s beginning you’ll probably be okay. At least you won’t have to worry about missing (just spell failure).

    January 1, 2012 at 3:59 PM

Leave a Reply

