About games and gaming thereof!

Some Notes About Stuff

I wanted to address a few things.

The Aliens vs. Predator business

I just knew that if I said I was going to do something, it would be that much harder to actually do it. Many people operate more efficiently when under pressure, but it seems that whenever I’m under pressure, even if I put that pressure on myself, I will consistently say “Fuck it!” and go play whatever flash game is hot on Kongregate.

For the record, procrastination isn’t the only reason why I haven’t done the reviews yet. I recently watched the movie Alien via Netflix rental, what with everybody recommending it. (As for whether or not I enjoyed it: I did, sure. It was an uncomplicated horror movie, but it was very well made.) Watching it changed my perspective on the games; for example, neither of the games ever really established the fact that some people are actually androids. You’re just forced to figure it out when you kill a human and find you can’t bite his head, and then notice he’s bleeding some sort of strange white blood. Now I see the reason for this is because the game expects us to have watched the movies, and in Alien it’s a very gradual reveal.

Anyway, now I feel that I should wait until after I’ve watched Aliens, the sequel that’s next up on my Netflix queue, and then play through each of the campaigns again with my new perspective on the lore. Things will probably make far more sense, and I’ll be able to make more relevant, informed criticisms.

So the point I’m getting at is that those reviews aren’t coming for awhile. If they’re ever coming at all. Let me know if you’re looking forward to reading my thoughts on the games, by the way. If nobody actually cares, I just won’t bother. But if people do genuinely want to hear what I have to say on the subject, then I’ll definitely stick with it.

For now I already have other post ideas and other games to talk about. I have a lot of free time these days, though now most of it may get eaten up by…

NaNoWriMo!

Thinking of participating this year. I’ve never done so before, and I haven’t written original fiction in a long damn time, but this might be a good way to get back into the groove. I might even upload my story to this site at the end of November, though since I haven’t written in forever and will only have 30 days, it might be crap.

I definitely won’t meet the ludicrous goal of 50k words, since I don’t even know what I’m going to write about yet (though it’ll most likely involve ninjas). But hey, I might end up with something entertaining, even if it’s in a hilariously bad B-movie sort of way.

4 responses

  1. I would love to read your impressions about AvP e AvP 2010, but it’s your decision, of course. By the way, I would love even more to read your naive impressions about the games, without knowing anything about the lore. It would be a unbiased review based solely on gameplay… but now it’s gone.

    November 3, 2011 at 10:53 AM

  2. Zekiel

    I’m interested in hearing your opinions on AvP if you care to make them!

    November 4, 2011 at 9:50 AM

  3. Nerm

    add me to the people wanting your thoughts on the games

    November 4, 2011 at 12:52 PM

  4. You know, “the game never explains this an expects you to have seen the movies” is actually a valid criticism. The games SHOULD stand alone.

    November 16, 2011 at 10:18 AM

Leave a Reply

