About games and gaming thereof!

Blue Screen of Awesome

Open up your bookmarks tab, ladies and gentlemen, for there’s a new gaming website to spend hours at a time reading at: Blue Screen of AWESOME.

Of course, there has to be at least two billion gaming websites out these days, and most of your time is probably already taken up by Ninja Game Den, so what makes this one special? Well, I’ll give you one word: Jarenth. Or rather, Jarenth is regularly writing articles and providing commentary on games there. Guess that’s more than one word.

Jarenth, as you all know, is a regular commentator at here, Twenty Sided, Chocolate Hammer, and all those other cool places where the cool people talk about cool stuff. Jarenth is also somebody I have occasional conversations with on Steam. Awhile ago he mentioned something to me about him saying stuff about games with his friends on a website of some sort, so I’ve pretty much been holding my breath since then. Just from reading his comments on other people’s blogs one can tell that Jarenth is a really good writer, and I’ve been wanting to see what entire articles of his would look like.

And now their site appears to be open to the public. Well, it’s been “open to the public” for awhile, but he didn’t throw me a link until yesterday, so whatever.

From the looks of it, each cast member has his own little personalized column devoted to some topic, and then they all join together to review big games Rock-Paper-Shotgun style. Jarenth’s little corner is called Indie Wonderland, and it appears to be devoted entirely to writing about cheap little indie games.

I find this interesting, because that’s exactly the sort of thing I was originally planning to do with my blog when I first started. My first two posts were about Plain Sight, an indie deathmatch game, and Plants vs. Zombies, a tower defense game that technically isn’t indie but goes for $10 nonetheless. I was considering devoting this blog entirely to the little leagues, but then I remembered that I generally can’t focus on something for more than eight seconds.

In any case, Jarenth has already written about a few games I was thinking of writing about but never did (Xotic, The Binding of Isaac). You should go read those. His opinions of those games are eerily similar to my own, and yet slightly more eloquent and sexy. There’s also a guy who plays MMOs, and another guy who plays… Soccer, I guess? Whatever. You’ve got time. Go read it. This is journalism, people. It’s serious business.

4 responses

  1. Giantraven

    Hooray! Another gaming blog, tangentially related to twenty sided, that I can obsessively visit!

    :D

    October 19, 2011 at 12:41 PM

  2. Sumanai

    Apparently I might be technically dead. I’m sure it’s nothing to worry about.

    October 20, 2011 at 7:05 AM

  3. Seeing as though about 50% of our traffic is currently coming from this link, I thought I’d offer some clarifications here.

    JPH is correct in identifying Rock Paper Shotgun as a major influence for our site — RPS is easily my favourite news site, and I know co-writer Jasper reads it too. Plus, their format is pretty well suited to multiple semi-independent writers, which is always how I’ve envisioned the site to work.

    How we’re currently operating is as follows. Every week on Thursday, our group has a little get-together (or, at least, the members willing to attend do) and plays whatever game has been designated for that week. We then each write a short review about said game, about 500 words. Those reviews are collected into the Review Corner feature, which is posted Thursday the next week.

    Next to that, each of us (there’s currently six, as described in this opening post) has their own things planned out to do. Mine, as JPH correctly indicated, is the Indie Wonderland column, in which I play cheap indie games because I am a fucking addict — that currently updates each Monday. Nagilium has his MMO Playground, in which he plays Free-to-Play MMOs; that’s currently only got one episode, but I’ve been assured new ones are due next week. PlayerIII had planned on Going Pro with Fifa 12, but he hit an unexpected snag in not actually being able to afford the game. That’s been solved now, but no word on new episodes on that front. There’s also more nebulous plans in the works, but I’ll let those develop for now.

    I decided to let the nascent site simmer for a month before actually telling people about it because I wanted to see if my friends and me could keep up the posts-a-week type schedule. You can already see some bumps here and there — re-read the previous paragraph and take a shot every time I talk about something in the future sense — but Indie Wonderland (by me) and Review Corner (by at least me) are going pretty well, so I decided to get the word around.

    So, yeah. JPH, thanks for the plug, and I hope you guys enjoy reading our words!

    October 20, 2011 at 9:58 AM

    • JARENTH casts WALL OF TEXT. It’s super effective! READER has fainted…

      October 20, 2011 at 9:59 AM

Leave a Reply

