About games and gaming thereof!

Fallout 9-7-11

Stream’s up.

You know, I made a post forever ago talking about how Plants vs. Zombies is such a brilliant game because it manages to hit that sweet spot of having accessibility and depth. I’m starting to feel like Fallout is the antithesis of that; it’s both inaccessible and insipid, at the same time. The challenge comes not from any semblance of strategy or skill, but from one’s willingness to put up with an obnoxious interface, a stupidly unforgiving leveling curve, and an ugly, nonsensical world.

I’m sorry if this sentence sounds redundant after that last paragraph, but Fallout is really starting to stress me out. I said I was going to see this game through to the end, but I just don’t want to anymore. I’ve had enough. People have said this game gets really good if you learn to tolerate its deficiencies, but I’m four hours in and the game has felt akin to pulling teeth every step of the way. I’ve found absolutely nothing about it fun or engaging. I’m really not sure how it can get out of the hole it’s dug itself into at this point.

11 responses

  1. Sorry to hear about that, buddy. At least, you’ve tried! If it is not fun anymore, it is time to move along.

    September 8, 2011 at 8:30 AM

  2. vukodlak

    I was just wondering… are you curious as to how so many people seem to hold Fallout in such high regard? This happens to me sometimes and I find it really uncanny – something is recognised as a materpiece and I just can’t see why? And I don’t mean ‘not enjoyable for me’ I mean I can’t see how it could be enjoyable for anyone…

    September 8, 2011 at 9:45 AM

  3. Wookie7

    I second the motion…if it’s making you miserable, stop playing! And I say this as someone who loved it when it first came out. :)

    As to why many of us think so highly of it? You have to look at it in a historical context. It offered a different setting and story than most crpg’s of the time…almost all of them fantasy based. The story was good and engaging for its time. Remember, Baldur’s Gate was still a year away from revitalizing the genre. Plus, it offered a slower gaming speed than shooters for those of us without the reflexes of a coked-up seven-year-old.

    And yes, it’s buggy as hell. Horrible path-finding, blocked routes, game-ending bugs. It has NOT aged well.

    September 8, 2011 at 10:48 AM

  4. krellen

    I skip watching one stream and this is what happens.

    September 8, 2011 at 9:14 PM

    • JPH

      I needed you, man! Where were you?

      September 8, 2011 at 9:16 PM

      • krellen

        Laying in bed with back pain. Remember, I’m old.

        September 8, 2011 at 9:44 PM

        • Deadpool

          I’m pretty bummed I keep missing them too. But you know how girlfriends are…

          September 9, 2011 at 12:54 AM

  5. Well if you don’t enjoy it then stop. You have tried enough.
    I was a bit surprised. I know I don’t like Fallout, but I don’t like RPGs in general. And I especially hate the Fallout/Baldurs Gate generation of RPGs.

    I always thought that most rpg fans liked this sort of stuff. So I expected you to find the point where it gets interesting. But maybe it really doesn’t exist.

    btw. If you want to watch a good blind LP of fallout, you should watch mynameisnotlily.

    September 9, 2011 at 4:45 AM

    • Deadpool

      Yeah, I like that Let’s Play quite a bit too…

      September 9, 2011 at 10:45 AM

    • JPH

      I still think that the part I would enjoy exists somewhere in the game. I’ve heard Fallout fans say that you have to get to the ending, that’s when the story really comes together. I’ve heard some Fallout fans say you have to play through the game multiple times to truly appreciate it.

      My issue is that I just don’t want to play it enough to get there.

      September 9, 2011 at 12:24 PM

      • The Master is really where Fallout is at its best, and you have to have gone through most of the rest of the game to really understand all his nuance. Fallout is a slow game; that’s actually one of the things I love the most about it.

        September 9, 2011 at 1:09 PM

Leave a Reply

