About games and gaming thereof!

Skyrim? Meh

Now that Human Revolution is here, I’ve been trying to see if there are any other games I’m looking forward to. I’ve been checking off the games on the Steam upcoming games list.

Dead Island? Meh. Another zombie game.

Modern Warfare 3? Meh. Another military shooter.

And Skyrim? Meh. Another Bethesda game.

A friend recently reminded me that I should be looking forward to that game like it’s the second coming. It’s kind of strange how I’ve become so jaded toward Bethesda games, considering how much I liked Fallout 3 back in the day. Although I suspect that if I went back and played it again I probably wouldn’t enjoy it nearly as much as I did. In fact I’d probably get sick of it rather quickly.

Most of my ire toward Bethesda is due to their games just being extremely unimmersive. They’re very character-oriented, and it’s hard to look past how artificial and mechanical the characters appear. They’re stiff. They’re unemotive. They just seem like wind-up dolls. This is the main reason why I couldn’t really appreciate New Vegas’s story and setting. (If Obsidian was able to make that game using a different engine, I probably would have liked it far more than Fallout 3.)

I’m aware that they’re using a new engine for Skyrim, but I’m not getting my hopes up. This is Bethesda we’re talking about. Considering how bad they are at optimization and interface design, they’ll probably screw the new engine up too.

And besides, Skyrim probably won’t even run on my computer. My graphics card is sort of crap. With Human Revolution and AssCreed: Brotherhood I had to turn the resolution down to 800×600 just to make them run smoothly. If I try running Skyrim I’ll probably catch on fire.

6 responses

  1. tdmarceldt

    Well, how about Indie games?Very criatives, very charming(and very smalls too).

    September 3, 2011 at 4:12 PM

  2. Arkham City looks pretty promising to my eyes.

    September 3, 2011 at 9:13 PM

  3. Ja

    I *want* to look forward to Skyrim, I really do. Morrowind still ranks pretty highly on my Games I Enjoyed The Most, Under Very Specific Circumstances list. But I got burned on Oblivion pretty badly. I bought the hype, and the hype won.

    So, waiting. Waiting and seeing.

    September 4, 2011 at 6:09 AM

  4. Babitz

    In that case, go play some classic games you missed until you manage to upgrade your PC.

    September 4, 2011 at 9:38 AM

    • Isn’t that exactly what he’s been doing?

      September 4, 2011 at 4:32 PM

      • JPH

        To be fair, I haven’t done a review of an old game in awhile.

        Well, I suppose I’m in the process of doing so with the Fallout stream. But it wouldn’t hurt to do another one while I’m at it.

        September 4, 2011 at 10:03 PM

Leave a Reply

