About games and gaming thereof!

Fallout 8-31-11

Stream’s up.

In case you don’t have the patience to watch me walk around town for close to an hour (and I certainly don’t blame you), let me recap what happened in this episode:

  • I went to a bar, watched someone get shot, concluded I was done with Junktown and left.
  • I went to the Hub, explored the town, talked to a whole bunch of NPCs and gathered up quests.
  • I talked to the Heavy Weapons Guy and decided to see if I could buy a rocket launcher. I feel the need to emphasize that I didn’t actually want a rocket launcher — I just wanted to see if I had enough in stock to afford such an expensive item. Once I saw that I did, in fact, have enough, I exited the bartering session by pressing the Esc key.
  • Later, after saving, I entered a combat situation and found that all my stimpacks and caps were gone, as well as most of my weapons and ammo (the one weapon I got to keep was one of the weapons I lost my ammo for). It turns out that exiting  barter by pressing Esc causes all the items in the barter to cease to exist. Actually, that’s not entirely true; I went back to the merchant, and it turns out he got to keep his rocket launcher. But all my items were gone forever.

Yes, you can blame me for not keeping multiple save slots. My usual policy for saving games in RPGs like this is that I only use a separate save file when I enter situations I could become stuck in, like a combat zone, or a dungeon, or the endgame Point Of No Return. I guess I’ve become spoiled by games that don’t decide to steal all my stuff for no reason.

But you have to keep in mind that when you use the quicksave button, it always saves to the same save file. So the game is virtually encouraging me to keep one save slot. Whatever the case may be, I still think this is the game’s fault, not mine.

I’m probably going to play the game by myself at some point between now and next Wednesday and catch up to where I was before. I swear, this game had better start getting good soon.

One response

  1. Falcon

    Now I’m not normally one to advocate cheating, but surely there must be some form of hex editor or something to allow you to restore your lost items.

    Seriously that sucks, but those kind of bugs still crop up today. That’s why there are so many Oblivion mods.

    September 1, 2011 at 8:20 PM

Leave a Reply

