About games and gaming thereof!

Fallout Stream: Video Up!

To those of you who missed the stream, here is the video in all its low-definition glory.

I don’t watch  many Let’s Plays or live streaming sessions of games, so I have little to compare this to. There’s also that whole “You’re always the worst judge of your own work” mantra. But on the whole, I’m not too happy with it. There are many awkward silences, and many of the comments I make are responses to messages in the chat room, which you can’t see because the chat room isn’t shown on the stream. Maybe I can make room for the chat window in my next stream?

Oh yeah, by the way, I’m thinking this will be a regular Wednesday thing. From now on I’ll probably start earlier than 8 PM to make it easier on my European viewers (which, out of the 7 viewers I had, I think most of them were European). I think 5 or 6 PM would be a good time.

Anyway, I had a lot of criticisms I had planned to make while playing the game, most of which I forgot to mention once I was actually streaming. It’s amazing how it all dries up when you’re put on the spot. I have a great level of respect and admiration for people who can stream a game live, without anyone else’s voice on the line, and still manage to make funny and/or insightful comments. (Rutskarn, I salute you.)

I think the main point I wanted to make was in the intro video. (Not the War Never Changes video, but the Go Fetch Us A Water Chip And Some Pizza video.) Something tells me that introduction was supposed to captivate me far more than it actually did. Not only do I find it to be a fairly weak goal to work towards, since I haven’t gotten to know anybody in Vault 13 (they could all be jerks for all I know) but it also doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to me.

If their only hope for survival is to get this water chip, why are they only sending one person rather than a whole team? Surely that would provide a higher chance of survival and success. Think about it — what if I had TWO people shooting bears greater mole rats? I might not have even died!

Maybe it’s explained later, but it bothered me nonetheless, and they didn’t even lampshade it.

7 responses

  1. “Maybe I can make room for the chat window in my next stream?”

    If you could do that,that would be awesome. I wasn’t talking in the chat, because I was trying to do other stuff at the same time as the livestream, but in between that, I read some of the chat, and I actually found it to be pretty entertaining. If you could put the chat into the video I think some people might enjoy it. And more importantly so they know what questions you were answering.

    August 18, 2011 at 12:24 PM

  2. krellen

    5 or 6 loses me; I’m still at work.

    The intro isn’t great, but you did miss one detail – the corpse outside the Vault. It’s wearing a Vault 13 jumpsuit. You weren’t the first one sent.

    August 18, 2011 at 2:06 PM

    • JPH

      Surely any sensible person would send them in a group rather than one-at-a-time, right?

      August 18, 2011 at 2:39 PM

      • Clearly the Vault Overseer was raised on a steady diet of terrible, cliched horror movies.

        August 18, 2011 at 4:30 PM

    • JPH

      Also: argh. Would 7:00 work?

      August 18, 2011 at 3:47 PM

      • I can only watch until 1 am CEST. I think that is 5 pm CST.

        Also, I think there is an explanation to why the overseer sends you alone in the ending. Not a good place for it.

        You don’t really have to much pauses, for an LP of such a slow game. The other Blind LP of FO, i watched ( notlilly ) ; took 20 episodes ( 200 Minutes ) to find the damn rope.

        You should either add the comments feed to stream, though it will be somewhat hard to read unless you record HD in parallel like spoiler warning does. Reading the comments you refer too out loud might be better and also fill some silence.

        August 19, 2011 at 3:49 AM

      • krellen

        You’re never going to find a balance between old fogeys with jobs and young insomniac Europeans, so you should probably worry about the larger audience.

        August 19, 2011 at 5:58 PM

Leave a Reply

