About games and gaming thereof!

Live Fallout Streaming

So my initial plan was to make a series of posts about Fallout. I’ve already done some stuff in Junktown, which admittedly isn’t very far into the game. But Tobias made a suggestion to me, something I hadn’t thought of: he suggested that I record myself playing the game live.

Actually, I think I did consider this. I figured it would be impossible because Fallout isn’t recognized by Fraps, and the game doesn’t have a Windowed option. But after doing various google searches I found a program called D3DWindowed, which allows me to play the game in a convenient box.

I already tested it on Livestream, and it seems to work just fine. Now all I need is a set date and an audience. So, let’s say… Wednesday night (8/17/2011), at 8:00 PM CST North America (i.e. where I live). If you have any trouble figuring out what that means in your time zone, you can use this nifty little time zone converter. I live in Texas, so you can use that as reference.

Let me know if that date doesn’t work for you. I have a pretty flexible schedule, so if enough people have problems with it, I can change the time and/or date.

EDIT: Herp derp, Thursday night is Rutstream. No way I’m gonna try to compete with that. How’s tomorrow night sound?

10 responses

  1. Fang

    Wednesday sounds great. Never played Fallout 1 so this should be interesting.

    August 16, 2011 at 5:10 PM

  2. I’ve never played the first Fallout either, so I’ll try to check this out, but I tend to have no idea what’s going on around me, or any concept of the passage of time, so I might miss it.

    August 16, 2011 at 10:56 PM

    • JPH

      No hard feelings if you do miss it; I can definitely empathize with you on not keeping track of time. :P

      August 16, 2011 at 11:15 PM

  3. Hmm… according to that site ‘o yours, we’re actually seven hours apart, not nine. This means I’ll have to do another midnight run, but hey.

    Sleeping is overrated anyway.

    August 17, 2011 at 2:18 AM

    • Or eight. Same difference.

      August 17, 2011 at 2:19 AM

      • Ok, I’m a tad confused now. There’s something called CST, and something called CDT, and apparently they’re related?

        Could you shed some more light on this? It’d really help the European crowd pinpoint the exact time.

        August 17, 2011 at 2:21 AM

        • JPH

          I think CDT is for daylight savings time.

          August 17, 2011 at 10:45 AM

  4. Tobias

    Accordingto this:
    http://www.wolframalpha.com/input/?i=Wednesday++8%3A00+PM+CST
    your stream is at 3 in the morning for me. So I probably can’t watch it live. I think livestream has a recording option so we can watch replays if you turn it on.

    August 17, 2011 at 2:36 AM

  5. Hmm. 2am? Knowing me I’ll probably be up and bouncing off the walls then.

    Will you be commentating on the stream as well?

    August 17, 2011 at 12:05 PM

    • JPH

      Yes sir.

      August 17, 2011 at 12:11 PM

Leave a Reply

