About games and gaming thereof!

The Jimquisition: BOYCOTT!

The Jimquisition is very hit-and-miss for me. I often like the points that Jim Sterling tries to make, but his arrogant and over-the-top persona is too irritating for me. I know it’s supposed to be a joke, but it’s an annoying and overused joke nonetheless. I guess that could be part of why I loved today’s episode about boycotts; he had so much to say and so many points to make that he didn’t spend any time pleasing himself.

But I also love the points he made. I’m not inherently against boycotts in the games industry, but we as gamers make up boycotts for the dumbest reasons. Ignoring the examples he already used, people “boycotted” Portal 2 because of its completely innocuous and practically unnoticeable Day One DLC, people “boycotted” Team Fortress 2 because it went free (WTF?), people “boycotted” Left 4 Dead 2 because they wanted Valve to make Half-Life 3.

Huh. A lot of Valve fans try to boycott Valve games. Why? Valve has got to be one of the greatest and kindest developers out there today, what did they do to deserve this?

Anyway, while I do think a lot of game boycotts are outright stupid, there are business practices within the industry that really should evoke boycotts. I have the utmost respect for the people who boycotted games like Starcraft 2 and Assassin’s Creed 2 because of their horrendous DRM.

So I absolutely agree with Jim in this case. If we can stop overusing the word boycott, we can start using it for some actual good.

I also love that he brought up people complaining that Fallout 3 wasn’t exactly like Fallout.

Note: I did not edit those words in. These are the images exactly as they appear on the slideshow.

Also, for the record, that whole thing about me not buying Brink because it doesn’t have female characters, that wasn’t a boycott. That was a simple logical decision. I think it’s stupid and sexist that the game didn’t have female characters, especially since character customization was a major selling point, so I didn’t buy it. And the game turned out to be crap anyway, so I consider it a win on my part.

2 responses

  1. Thanks for making this post, because I have no intention of watching Jimquisition ever again. Sometimes he has good points and sometimes he doesn’t but I never found any of it entertaining.

    About Boycotts, they are overused, which lowers the value of legitimate Boycotts. If pretty much any decision at all will lead to Boycotts, then there’s no use paying attention to any of them, or at least that’s the way it seems.

    August 15, 2011 at 2:58 PM

  2. Bingbong

    I feel the same way about moviebob

    August 16, 2011 at 6:57 AM

Leave a Reply

