About games and gaming thereof!

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

So Valve just announced a new Counter-Strike game.

I knew Valve was going to announce a new game sometime soon, because there’s no way the company could only be working on DOTA 2. But I must say that I’m a bit disappointed. Of all the franchises Valve could continue at this point, Counter-Strike is the only one I’m not particularly interested in.

If they’d announced a new Half-Life, Portal, Left 4 Dead or Team Fortress game I would be ecstatic. But Counter-Strike? Eh. Another competitive war shooter.

Anybody else disappointed?

4 responses

  1. David T

    I kind of see it as more of an update (a paid one, that is). I’m not that surprised, tbh. Gabe Newell sort of let slip that a new CS game was in the works (he was asked by a fan if there was a new CS in the works, and he of course denied it, but his inflection and tone somewhat said otherwise. Very faint.) a couple of months ago. This seems like what CS: Source did to CS 1.6; more flare, tweaked gun mechanics, and new levels. Granted, I know very little about CS:GO, and never really got into the series, so my cynicism is high. I would have actually been happier (but less surprised) if they would just announce some new Portal 2 DLC already. They said we’d get some by the summer, but none has come out yet (I think).

    August 12, 2011 at 1:10 PM

  2. Fang

    Yep. The only problem I’ve had with CS:S and 1.6 is the fact that movement never feels fluid.

    August 13, 2011 at 2:35 AM

  3. Yeah, I am not a CS fan either. I mostly bought it for the Garry’s Mod models and stuff.

    August 15, 2011 at 10:19 AM

  4. ‘CS: GO features new maps’

    …that will be promptly ignored as the community puts de_dust on a loop for the next x years.

    August 15, 2011 at 7:15 PM

Leave a Reply

