About games and gaming thereof!

Blonde = Bimbo?

According to Kim Richards of PC Gamer, apparently Blonde Shepard is a personality-lacking bimbo.

For those of you who are unaware, Bioware put up a poll to see which female Shepard (or “FemShep”) people would rather have as the default. Shepard #5, the blonde one, won the poll. Apparently some people are up in arms about this, and I’m not entirely sure why.

Okay, to a degree I can understand where people are coming from. The games industry generally tends to lack diversity in its characters, so it’s a shame that when people get the chance to pick a dark-skinned character to represent the game they choose against her. But I’d say that article is taking things just a bit too far.

Actually, I’d say it’s taking things way too far. Why, exactly, is Shepard a dumb bimbo because she has blonde hair? Was there some scientific study I never heard about that proved blonde women have significantly less IQ and more sexual promiscuity than brunettes and redheads?

And if not, then where exactly is this coming from? Are we still clinging onto hair color stereotypes? I kind of hoped we could shake those off by now, at least when we’re trying to be serious.

I sincerely hope that article is meant to be a joke, or at least a massive hyperbole, because otherwise this is absurd.

3 responses

  1. Meh. Angry people will always be angry, what’cha gonna do.

    I was going to care about about New Default Female Shepard, but then I remembered that a) I play a Custom Male Shepard anyway, b) I think Blonde Long-haired Default Female Shepard was the best-drawn picture of the lot, and c) I’ve already stopping caring enough to think up a third point.

    August 4, 2011 at 1:59 AM

  2. Eh, it’s not like default Male-Shepard isn’t a personality-lacking generic…guy. I’d say a generic looking default Female-Shepard is par for the course.

    That being said, I completely fail to see why hair colour is such a big factor in that, especially in such a negative way. She would be just as dull looking with any other colour hair.

    August 4, 2011 at 4:34 PM

    • Also, this part really makes me laugh:

      ‘this will be the first in a long time that such a well-written, kick-ass female hero will be brought into the spotlight’

      Shepard, whether male or female, is so completely lacking in gender identity that I find it hilarious that anybody would put them on a pedestal as a ‘kick-ass female hero’.

      August 4, 2011 at 4:37 PM

Leave a Reply

