About games and gaming thereof!

Redesignification!

As some of you may have already noticed, my blog has a bit of a new look now. If you’re thinking I suddenly unleashed my artistic talents, well, I didn’t. The background, banner and new logo were all made by Laura-Jane Cunningham, graphic designer extraordinaire (you can check out her website here) and pretty much my only contribution to it was when she asked what I wanted and I said “I want the logo to be of, like, a ninja. Holding a controller or something. Yeah, that’d be cool.”

Well, she did that. And she also came up with a gradient background with a bluish purplish vibe going on, which is much more appealing to look at than that dreary black-brown motif I had before. She also kept the retro feel of my original “guy with gun” logo by making the ninja quasi-8-bit, and made a rather stylized banner to go along with it.

So thanks, Laura! And I hope you all like it.

6 responses

  1. Nivek

    J, very impresive, and the new logo loks awesome! i told you keeping it pixelated was a good idea!

    July 5, 2011 at 2:36 PM

  2. Wookie7

    I have a couple of problems:
    1. I hope I’m doing this right, because the comment box is black type on a black box. I can only read it by highlighting it. Ugh.
    2. The white text tends to blend into the lighter portions of the gradient…parts of it are barely legible, especially to these old eyes.

    July 5, 2011 at 3:28 PM

    • JPH

      The text is showing up as white for the reply box on my computer. That’s odd… Could it be some sort of plugin issue?

      July 5, 2011 at 3:43 PM

  3. Laura-Jane

    Wookie7, that’s weird. It sounds like your browser is having a bad reaction to the original layout.

    There should be a semi-transparent black background separating the text from the gradient, and the comment box text should be white.

    July 5, 2011 at 3:45 PM

    • Wookie7

      Could be. I’m using IE 7 (shh, I’ have to, I’m at work). I think the background works, but the text is in black. Actually, the text is darker than the background, so I can sorta read it without highlighting, but it’s a bit eyestraining.

      July 5, 2011 at 4:03 PM

      • Wookie7

        Definitely looks to be a problem on my end. The gradient flashes between looking like a proper gradient and a pixelated ladder. Weird.

        July 5, 2011 at 4:08 PM

Leave a Reply

