About games and gaming thereof!

Let’s Play… What, exactly?

Okay, I think it’s safe to assume that nobody’s watching my Let’s Play anymore. That’s fine. It’s my fault for not making it entertaining enough for people to watch. But I don’t want to give up the whole Let’s Play scene entirely, so I’m gonna see if the problem is with the game.

If you genuinely do want to continue watching me play through Unreal, let me know. Otherwise I’m going to try to find another game to do an LP of.

Current potential candidates include:

1: MDK 2. Like I mentioned in the last LP episode, I just got the game recently and I played through some of the first level. It seems fun, and it actually has a story so it’ll probably be less boring to watch. It seems to basically be a third person shooter/platformer. It’s pretty whimsical and goofy, and the story seems to play out in a sort of comic book style. Let me know if it interests you.

2: Minecraft. I’m given to understand that Minecraft is currently the most “watched” game on Youtube. Apparently people really like to watch other people mine and craft. And I can understand why. It ought to be interesting to see different people’s different motivations to play the game, as well as their building methods and architectural design. However, I’m not much of a builder, so I’ve got ideas other than building a great big monument or castle.

For example: With the guns mod I have installed, I’m tempted to start from scratch and see how long it takes to construct all the guns necessary to roleplay as an FPS protagonist. So, let’s say, a desert eagle, shotgun, AK47, sniper rifle and rocket launcher. This would mostly involve digging for piles and piles of iron, and a few other materials (like diamonds for the sniper scope). Alternatively, I could roleplay as Rico Rodriguez from Just Cause 2 by constructing a gun, a parachute and a grappling hook. Though the grappling hook in the Minecraft mod is not nearly as useful as the one in JC2.

3: Terraria. This game isn’t as popular as Minecraft, but I would say it’s certainly as interesting. It gives you about as much sense of direction as Minecraft, but there’s a lot more diversity in enemies, environments, items and abilities, so it might be interesting for both you and me if I make a new character and a new world, and record myself starting from scratch and building up a town of NPC salesmen.

I’m sure there are more potential games I have and can’t think of at the moment. (I have a ton of Steam games, many of which I’ve hardly played. I think I’m nearing 200 of them.) Anyway, let me know what you think! Also, any criticism on how I could run my Let’s Play better beyond what game to show off would be very much appreciated.

14 responses

  1. As J Random Subscriber… who watches many LPs, I just don’t like FPSes. I’d love to see you run one in Veriax’s style (either an interactive or as a fully-immersed RP) of the Quest for Glory series. From the options above, Terraria sounds the most interesting.

    June 30, 2011 at 5:01 AM

    • JPH

      Quest for Glory? I hadn’t heard of it until you mentioned it. But after reading about it on Abandonia it sounds interesting.

      Doesn’t seem to want to install on my computer though…

      June 30, 2011 at 5:13 AM

      • Have you tried dosbox? It usually works for me with QFG 1 VGA.

        June 30, 2011 at 5:41 AM

        • JPH

          Hmm… Okay, just installed dosbox. I have no idea how to run Quest for Glory through it though.

          I’m trying to read the manual, and I’m not even sure what it’s talking about with directories and drives and… Curse my lack of computer knowledge!

          June 30, 2011 at 5:51 AM

          • I for one look forward to seeing you tangle with the Antwerp.

            June 30, 2011 at 6:41 AM

          • Okay, if you can navigate to the QFG1VGA directory (EGA would be an *amusing* learning curve to watch, mind you) sierra.bat should automagically do stuff. Probably. install.exe may almost certainly do something.

            (I’m definite about… something…)

            What bit are you having trouble with?

            June 30, 2011 at 7:01 AM

          • http://www.questformoreglory.com/help/dosbox3.html Should give better help. Recording a blind playthrough will be hilarious. (I’ve clicked “notify of followups”) for this post, if you need more help.

            June 30, 2011 at 7:04 AM

            • JPH

              I think the reason QFG doesn’t want to install on my computer is because I’m using 64-bit, and the game is designed for 32-bit.

              At least, that’s what Windows told me. But Windows lies sometimes.

              I bet I could figure this stuff out if I’d gone to bed last night. ><

              June 30, 2011 at 7:17 AM

              • Oooh, you’re *not* using dosbox? You *really* need to. Even 32bit windows can’t be sufficiently backwards compatible.

                June 30, 2011 at 7:31 AM

  2. Far be it from me to criticize the YouTubes, but I honestly feel that watching someone else play Minecraft or Terraria for extended periods of time should be considered to be one of the earlier circles of hell. The one where they send people who spend work hours reading blogs instead of working, I guess.

    My vote is for MDK2 for this reason, and also because I’ve never actually played that game myself.

    As for the improvement factor… I’m not really acknowledgable here, as I much prefer text LPs over video (I almost never watch video LP, really), but what I remember from that first video is that your Unreal series just wasn’t that much fun. If you’re going to do a video series where you and another dude just document what’s going on on-screen, it’s going to be about as much fun as just watching some random dude play a video game. And talking about it.

    Spoiler Warning works because of the inter-host banter and dynamic. JaR works because Jibar, Rutskarn and Phase are like the cogs in a finely tuned comedy machine. Even Rutskarn’s solo adventures into XCom, Hitman and the Bootlord Adventures work because he injects humor into everything he does. Had the Hitman stream just been Rutskarn playing Hitman, I probably would’ve lost interest after the first stream.

    To be fair, I don’t actually know how you did most of the streams, as the first one just put me off of the series (again: not a video LP fan). But I’d reckon that what you need to do more is draw the viewers in.

    June 30, 2011 at 5:07 AM

    • JPH

      Humor is definitely something that was lacking in my Unreal videos.

      That’s the thing about Unreal, though — there really isn’t much to go on in that game. I was trying to think of jokes or insightful comments to make, but there just wasn’t much there.

      I feel the same way about Minecraft; I imagine I’d get bored as all hell watching someone mining stone for ten minutes straight. But I figured I’d put the idea out there since it’s such a popular thing on Youtube. I’d think Terraria would be much more interesting since there’s more to see, but I dunno, maybe that would just end up the same way.

      I’m not sure if I should try MDK 2 since I don’t know how much I could say about that game, but I’m willing to bet if I browse my Steam library a bit I could find a good game for LP commentary.

      I know you said twice that your criticism doesn’t mean much in this case, but I appreciate it nonetheless.

      June 30, 2011 at 5:20 AM

      • Humor, immersion, or audience participation are what I’ve seen work quite well. But yes, just watching digging is *boring* and you’ll probably want to time-lapse most of the fiddly parts.

        June 30, 2011 at 5:43 AM

    • Sumanai

      I think you’re speaking about Limbo, which is the first circle.

      July 14, 2011 at 10:16 AM

Leave a Reply

