About games and gaming thereof!

Another Let’s Play Idea

So I took in some constructive criticism for my Let’s Play. Then I looked through my entire Steam library to find a worthy title for your viewing pleasure. And I think I found one.

One criticism for the Unreal LP was that I didn’t really draw the audience in. Part of that is because of the game, since there just isn’t much to say about it. Ideally I would want a game with interesting gameplay for me to talk about, as well as a story for me to make fun of.

But another part of the problem is that my co-commentator, Galzzly, wasn’t involved. He was only able to watch through a low-quality Skype window that constantly lagged, and so he couldn’t really say anything about the game. So ideally the game’s campaign would be cooperative, so that Galzzly can be a part of the experience as well. This would also allow us to interact with one another in-game, which would make the experience more interesting for us and for the viewers.

And ideally we’d want a game that not only allows for cooperative gameplay, but also lets the players troll each other, so that our banter could be funny as well as insightful.

So, a game with interesting gameplay and story, as well as a cooperative campaign that allows the players to torment one another? Wait, I think I just described Magicka!

Honestly, Magicka is the perfect game for me to do a Let’s Play on, which makes me a bit disappointed in myself that it took me this long to think of it. It’s one of the many games that I thought about reviewing when I played, but didn’t actually get around to it because I had other things I felt like writing about at the time. It’s an interesting and funny game with unique gameplay and a fully cooperative campaign. It also recently got a free PvP update, so we could do that at some point as an intermission episode.

And this doesn’t even have to be limited to me and Galzzly. The other two people in our hypothetical podcast team have Magicka as well. RandomGuy couldn’t get the game to run on his computer the last time he tried, but they seem to have improved the optimization in the updates since then, so if we can get it to run on his computer then all four of us could be active in this at once.

I haven’t talked to my friends about this yet, but I don’t see why they wouldn’t be alright with this.

Brian BallsunStanton suggested Quest For Glory, and he’s been helping me out with getting it to work with dosbox. I haven’t gotten it to work yet, but if I do then I probably owe it to him to record some episodes of me playing that. I could alternate between the two. I could record sessions of QFG when I can’t get my friends together to play Magicka.

How is this sounding?

6 responses

  1. (I wish twitter would allow one more character. I’ve got a – between my last names) You don’t owe me anything, mate :) However, drop me a line on twitter or gtalk and I’ll see what I can do to help you run QFG when I wake up.

    June 30, 2011 at 8:33 AM

  2. Magicka might be good, yeah. My only concern is that the game is so slapstick that it might be hard to make jokes about it. But who knows, maybe the blowing-each-other-up makes up for it. ;)

    June 30, 2011 at 8:35 AM

  3. An online co-op PC game that allows players to troll one another? Why aren’t you doing Portal 2?

    June 30, 2011 at 1:57 PM

    • JPH

      I forgot about that too? Good lord, I must have Alzheimer’s or something.

      I’ll put that one on the list of potential candidates.

      June 30, 2011 at 2:42 PM

  4. Well if you really want to do a co-op game, I hear Halo has a good co-op…



    …No, just kidding, that would be incredibly dull to watch, probably worse than Unreal.

    June 30, 2011 at 8:14 PM

    • On a more serious note, check out Resident Evil 5 for some incredible co-op gameplay as well as incredible storytelling…



      …No, just kidding that would be a horrible idea, that game was boring enough playing so watching it would be even worse.

      July 1, 2011 at 2:30 PM

Leave a Reply

