About games and gaming thereof!

Postcards from Modded Minecraft: The Big Boom

So I mentioned earlier that my friends and I have a private Minecraft server. (No, I’m not giving out the address. Sorry.) We all installed a bunch of mods to give us access to guns, planes, nukes, grappling hooks, parachutes, and a pile of other stuff. And when I say guns, I don’t just mean there’s a “gun” item. I mean M16s, AK47s, desert eagles, sniper rifles, rocket launchers, etc. A lot of guns.

In my Terraria review I said that I never got too sucked into Minecraft because I’ve never really felt inclined to build big monuments or cities or whatever. But I gotta say, the prospect of crafting my very own guns makes me feel much more motivated to hunt for resources.

Anyway, I figured I might as well take some pictures for your viewing pleasure. (And if anyone is curious, yeah, this is what we were talking about in yesterday’s LP episode.)

Firstly, here’s me after I finally got all the iron, gunpowder, and other miscellaneous crap I needed to craft my very own Desert Eagle:

Ninja with a gun. Fuck yeah.

Here’s my friends doing their own crap:

Galzzly standing atop his floating city. (Note: The glasses are an equippable item, not a part of his skin. Although Link with blue shades does look pretty funny.)
Rayzn examining the trap door for his underground headquarters. (RISE AND SHINE, MISTER FREEMAN.)
Nemesis building a landing zone for his planes. (Pikachu! I choose you!)

Huh. Everyone is an iconic video game character except me. Unless you count, I dunno, Ryu from Ninja Gaiden?

Anyway, I actually did build a little establishment of my own. Check it out:

My own little “hanging garden.” Yeah, it’s not as big as the real one, but meh. Blame my attention span.
…And here’s Nemesis’s giant floating castle, within perfect view of my garden. He just couldn’t leave me in peace.

Anyway, that’s all nifty, but that’s not our feature presentation. Today I want to tell you about the day we decided to blow up the world.

A nuke, you see, causes an explosion four times the size of one from TNT. And we discover it’s a lot of fun to stick nukes in caves and set them off. It’s also a lot harder to make than TNT. But luckily for us, we have the admin on our side. So we get the crazy idea to find a big cave, and completely stuff it with nukes. And then watch the fireworks.

We each get an inventory packed with nukes (plus some torches and golden apples, to make sure we don’t get murdered by skeletons and creepers) and find a cave to work in.

Lock and load, boys.

We’re getting there.

Sadly we weren’t able to fill the entire cave. Eventually one of us (it wasn’t me, I swear) accidentally slipped and set one of them off. And… yeah. KABOOM!

Also sadly I wasn’t able to take any screenshots of the resulting explosion. It froze all of our games, and it nearly crashed the server. But we did get to see the resulting crater.

Ladies and gentlemen, this is what nukes can do:

Yeah.

We actually wrecked part of Rayzn’s underground base, and it even damaged some of my floating garden. Like, in the sky. That’s how big this explosion was. It was awesome.

Anyway, I actually haven’t been getting on Minecraft much lately. Shortly after I made my desert eagle I realized I don’t have much use for it. Yeah, it helps when fighting monsters, but ammo can eat up a lot of gunpowder, which isn’t exactly easy to get your hands on in the first place. Planes are incredibly buggy, and most of the other tools in the mods just don’t function properly. (The grappling hook can only lower you, not raise you, and it actually damages you as you slide down. Go figure.) I’ve run into the same problem I had before, in that I just don’t know what I’d want to do next.

4 responses

  1. Now that’s an original title.

    Seeing this mod almost makes me interested in playing minecraft…almost. I just like story driven games too much to wander around a big sandbox.

    PS if you’re interested in game theory, check out my latest blog post. I could be biased, but I think its pretty awsome.

    June 25, 2011 at 5:30 PM

  2. Rayzn

    Hey now, my base is underwater* not underground. That is a very important distinction.

    *Here “underwater” having the meaning of “the entrance is a hole at the bottom of a lake which leads to a flooded tunnel. The main body the base is actually dug into a hill.

    June 25, 2011 at 11:07 PM

    • JPH

      Bah. Same thing.

      June 26, 2011 at 12:18 AM

  3. Nivek

    JPH you should make a lava fortress! but if you do empty ur inventory! i garentee you will die at least once! but then you have a base with walls made of lava and you know no one can mess with you!

    June 26, 2011 at 10:31 AM

Leave a Reply

