About games and gaming thereof!

Deus Ex 3 Anticipation

Well damn, the world didn’t end. Guess I have to talk about something now.

This was released recently as part of the viral marketing campaign for Deus Ex 3 (or Deus Ex: Human Revolution, to go by its proper title). The game is scheduled to release in late August of this year, and they’re reportedly getting close to finishing it. It’s set up as a prequel to the first Deus Ex.

I feel the need to remind you all that Deus Ex 1 is my favorite game ever. And with that in mind I must say, I am way more excited about this game than I should be.

Deus Ex 1 was developed by Ion Storm. This game is coming from Eidos Montreal. The publisher is even different; DX1 was from Eidos, DX3 is gonna be from Square-Enix. None of the new developers were involved in the creation of the first game. They certainly liked it, and they reportedly have taken influence from it, but it’s from a completely new set of people. The game looks like a completely different game set in an entirely new world. It seems like I have every reason to be pessimistic and cynical about this.

But I practically got giddy with excitement when I saw that ad. I’ve been following news about the game for awhile. I preordered the game a week or two ago, and the game isn’t coming out for months. And I didn’t just preorder the game; I preordered the collector’s edition of it. I’ve never done that for a game before.

So why am I so excited about this game?

Well, the developers have been saying all the right things. You can tell from trailers that they know what the fans liked about the first game. This isn’t like Fallout 3, where they thought all the fans wanted was more Super Mutants and Nuka-Cola.

They devoted an entire team to the PC version of the game to make sure it feels like an actual PC game and not just a PC port of a console game. The interface for the PC version looks rather similar to that of DX1.

But more importantly than all that is the fact that damn near every critic that’s gotten to play the preview has been speaking wonders for this game. PC Gamer. Rock Paper Shotgun. Destructoid. Susan Arendt talked about her experience with the game on Twitter. Pretty much everyone has unanimously agreed that it feels like Deus Ex. And they’re not just saying this game is pretty good. They’re saying this game is fantastic.

Although I have high hopes for this game, that RPS preview has me worried about two things.

1. They say it has a bit of an over-reliance on cutscenes. This I predicted from the start. I know they picked up on all those things that fans loved about DX1, but out of all the praises I’ve heard for that game, I think I’m the only one who I’ve ever heard saying “it has no cutscenes in it” as a point in its favor. So of course this new game is going to have cutscenes all over the place, because that’s how games work nowadays.

This doesn’t make the game bad, per se. It just takes away one aspect of the first game that made me adore it so much.

2. They say the preview ended with a mandatory boss fight. This is something I didn’t necessarily predict but was very worried about. Unskippable boss fights were the kiss of death for Alpha Protocol, a game I liked very much otherwise. In an action RPG that encourages alternatives to combat like stealth and dialogue, forcing them to fight a big epic boss just seems needless and silly.

I’m not sure how they’ve done the boss battles, and all I’ll say is that there’s potential for the fights to not suck if they do things just right. Nothing we can do but wait and see, I suppose.

In any case, I’m still really excited about this, and you should be too.

5 responses

  1. I never played Deus Ex, but Deus Ex 3 certainly looks promising. Probably play it after its been out for awhile, since buying games as soon as they come out is something I pretty much never do.

    This is sort of tangential, but I remember reading how square-enix was losing a lot of money recently, mainly due to to the horrible failure of FF14. But it also mentioned that it wasn’t all bad news because Square-enix has a strong list of games coming out soon, Deus Ex, Hitman, Tomb Raider, FF13-2. Most of the games on that list aren’t even being developed by Square.

    I guess it’s just interesting(for me anyway) to see Square-enix rise up as a major publisher, while most of the games actually developed by them lately are really bad.

    May 22, 2011 at 2:35 PM

  2. GiantRaven

    Didn’t the original Deus Ex have an unskippable boss in the form of Anna Navarre? I do agree that there shouldn’t be forced boss fights though (despite the fact that I loved the boss fights in Alpha Protocol).

    May 22, 2011 at 4:50 PM

    • JPH

      There were multiple ways to avoid having to fight her, though killing her may be mandatory. You can lay a mine at the door of the airplane room before she walks in, you can find the self-destruct codes and say them to her when you meet her in UNATCO. I think there may have been more beyond that.

      And to be fair, I didn’t hate all of the boss battles in AP. The one I really, really hated was the cokehead in Moscow.

      May 23, 2011 at 12:02 AM

      • GiantRaven

        Whoops. I forgot that the killswitch/LAM methods wouldn’t count as a boss fight. I was thinking of getting through the game without killing anybody. What you say is correct. =)

        The fight with Brayko is pretty bad gameplay-wise but the kickass music makes up for it imo.

        May 23, 2011 at 12:45 PM

      • JPH

        It did suck that killing Navarre was mandatory.

        And in all fairness, I’m aware that there’s a way to make the fight with Brayko a lot easier (something about him becoming disabled whenever he snorts instead of him going into a berserk rage with the knives). Sadly I didn’t get to do that, so I had to let him chase me around the room every few minutes.

        May 23, 2011 at 7:51 PM

Leave a Reply

