About games and gaming thereof!

Plain Sight

Plain Sight Screenshot

Plain Sight is an indie game about ninja robot suicide bombers.

I have a feeling half of you have stopped reading so you can buy it now, but for the rest of you who want to know more, I guess we’ll talk about the game.

Plain Sight is an interesting game to me because it’s an online deathmatch game, but its gameplay is mostly based on platforming. It basically feels like Mario Galaxy on crack.

You jump around on a bunch of platforms in space and you’re always pulled toward whatever platform you’re closest to, so gravity can feel a bit wonky.

To kill an enemy, you lock onto him and do a dash attack. Once you kill an enemy you gain his energy. You can use the energy to self-detonate, which gives you score.

I got really pissed off the first few times I would get a kill or two and then die without getting any score because I forgot to explode. But once you get used to it, it adds a whole other dimension to gameplay. You have to decide whether you should explode right away to ensure that you get points or whether you should wait and try to kill more enemies before you detonate so that you’ll have a higher multiplier.

A lot of developers add depth to their games by making the gameplay incredibly convoluted and confusing. That just annoys me. This right here is the kind of depth that I like. The controls are simple, but using them takes skill and strategy.

Instant kills are the only kills you’ll find in this game. No death takes more than one hit. Thankfully respawn times are very brief and you won’t ever have to wait long before jumping back into the fun. One thing that turns me off about the multiplayer in Left 4 Dead is that the respawn times completely destroy the flow. This game doesn’t have that problem.

The gameplay is incredibly fast paced. To me it seems like the ultimate game for somebody suffering from ADD (i.e. me); you’re constantly moving, enemies are constantly flying around and trying to kill you, and above all, things are constantly happening. It feels very energetic.

Plain Sight Screenshot 2

A ninja robot standing on a pirate ship in space. I think that might be too awesome.

If that’s not your thing, and you don’t want to deal with the hectic combat, then you might enjoy playing on a server with only a few players or bots and explore the levels. Just the act of leaping around on the platforms in space holds a lot of appeal for me. The visuals add a lot to that, especially since you’re playing as a ninja robot.

One disappointment for me is that there isn’t any music in the game except for when you’re in the menus. I think some fast-paced techno soundtrack could have done a good job at making the experience even more of a thrill. Fortunately the game lets you adjust the volume, so I usually turn the sound all the way down and turn on the Deus Ex soundtrack while playing.

It’s nice to see such a unique and interesting game. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a 3D deathmatch game that revolves around platforming. It combines lightning-fast combat with a wonderful sense of freedom and flow. It has simple controls that demand skill in execution.

Seriously, if you like competitive games and platformers, this game is definitely worth a look. I think it should last you many rounds before it starts to lose its entertainment value.

3 responses

  1. Rayzn

    First

    January 1, 2011 at 7:26 PM

  2. Laura-Jane

    Nice first post. The game sounds interesting, and your personality is definitely showing through.

    If I didn’t get vertigo from 3D platformers, I would check this out. It sounds too awesome to be true. Hell, I might check it out anyway.

    How much does it cost? You never said.

    January 2, 2011 at 11:52 PM

    • JPH

      The link at the beginning of the post will lead you to the Steam page. It’s normally $10, but today it’s on sale for $5.

      January 3, 2011 at 1:50 AM

Leave a Reply

